by Gilda Davidian

To Place is an ongoing series of books by Roni Horn about the relationship between identity and place. The books use Iceland as their starting point and evolve around Horn’s relationship with the country (she’s a frequent visitor). Here is Roni Horn talking about the project in a 1995 interview with Claudia Spinelli:

The entrance to all my work is the idea of an encyclopedia of identity. It is best represented by the books, the series called To Place, which is extremely important to me. I have been working on this since 1988. It’s really the heart. It is a series of books, each one of which adds to the whole in a way that alters the identity of it retroactively. So the first volume appears to be a book of drawings. The second book was about a completely different subject but in the same format. With the third volume people start to realize something: ‘Well, this looks like a series, so there must be some relationship. But I haven’t a clue as to what it is.’ Then there was the fourth volume, with texts and photographs. The books are this very slow process of accumulation in the period of a life, my life.

The 9 volumes:

  1. Bluff Life
  2. Folds
  3. Lava
  4. Pooling Waters
  5. Verne’s Journey
  6. Haraldsdóttir
  7. Arctic Circles
  8. Becoming a Landscape
  9. Doubt Box

Library of Water x  More Water x  More